A Book Separate from the Rest

Out of all of the books that I’ve read over my lifetime, one of them really stands out. It has brought me entertainment, taught me lessons, opened my eyes, and inspired me in a number of ways.

The book that I’m talking about is Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas, written by Hunter S. Thompson.

A scattered work of journalism, Thompson’s Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas tells the story of Raoul Duke and his attorney Dr. Gonzo while on a trip to Las Vegas, Nevada in search of the American Dream. However, Raoul Duke and Dr. Gonzo are really just fictional names for Hunter S. Thompson and his real life attorney, Oscar Zeta Acosta. The evens that take place in the book are anything but out of the ordinary, but at the same time they are extremely entertaining, keeping the reader’s attention with every turn of the page.

I originally read the book back in my junior year of high school, though I have gone back to read it many times since that original time.

Hunter S. Thompson himself

While searching Aamazon.com for another one of my now current top favorite books, Into the Wild, Thompson’s Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas came up in the “Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought” section. Having heard of it before, but never reading it, I decided to give Thompson’s book a read, and ordered it off Amazon.com.

Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas leaves much room for discussion. What is the American Dream, is the American Dream dead, and how was Hunter S. Thompson able to stay alive during his trip to Las Vegas are among the numerous discussions I’ve had regarding Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas.

Thompson’s Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas has had a big impact on my life. Thompson was a journalist, but also lived a wild and insane life. He went from barely getting by, to having movies made out of him (Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas, The Rum Diary
, and Gonzo: The Life and Work of Dr. Hunter S. Thompson). Thompson also invented a whole new form of journalism called Gonzo Journalism, the style that he used to write Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas.

One of the original printings of the book.

I have always desired to live a life that is different from the rest. Further, I’ve wanted to do something new, or create something new. I want to inspire people the way that others have inspired me. Reading Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas has helped show me how to do this.

Most importantly, if anything, reading Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas helped me further decide that becoming a journalist might be the right path in life for me to take.

Due to the fact that I read and enjoyed Hunter S. Thompson’s Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas, I now search for similar books like it. Instead of always reading fictional novels, I’m much more open to other kinds of books such as journalistic works and historical books. I enjoy these kinds of books more because I feel like I can really learn something from them.

If you haven’t read Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas yet and you’re looking for something out of the ordinary, definitely pick this book up.

Leave a Reply

