Is Disney Culture the Best Culture?

When I reflect on my childhood, I’m happy with the fact that I grew up in the Culture of Disney.

As a kid, no movie could compare to a Disney movie. Sure there were other movies that were good, but never as good as ones made by Disney. The stories, the songs, the characters, and the excitement set Disney apart from any other movie.

Now a college student, I still find myself reminiscing with other friends my age about how much we enjoyed watching Disney movies as a kid. Further, I saw more tweets and Facebook statuses about either wanting to watch or watching the new 3D version of the Lion King movie in theaters than I usually see for any other movie currently out in theaters.

Plain and simple, Disney was great as a kid. What’s the big deal?

In the years since the Disney movies of my childhood, many critics have come out and attacked Disney for the values it teaches, or doesn’t teach, its children viewers. One of the main criticisms of Disney movies is the portrayal of false impressions of men and women. However, critics have found almost any reason imaginable to claim that Disney movies corrupt the minds of viewers. I don’t believe in it.

As a kid, I watched Disney movies because they were entertaining. Of course I want to watch a movie about a talking lion that eats bugs with his friends, a warthog and a meerkat. Who wouldn’t want to watch a movie with cats that play jazz? Last but certainly not least, you bet I’d love to watch a movie about toys coming to life, every child’s dream.

Not only did Disney movies entertain me, but they also taught me about values. Disney movies taught me about what was right and what was wrong. Disney movies taught me about family. As a kid, I never thought about what it means to be a man. That is a concept that is beyond the thought of an eight year old.

Mostly grown up now, I realize that Disney movies aren’t like the “real world.” If anyone tries to make the claim that Disney movies give kids a flawed view of the real world, they clearly don’t understand the imagination of a child. Disney movies are about the fantastical world of imagination, not about real life events. Disney movies are fairy tales, not adult dramas.

We’re all entitled to our own opinions. Say what you will about Disney, my view remains the same. In all honesty, if there is one thing that Disney taught that I still remember today, it’s that “Disney” isn’t spelled with a backwards “G.”

Leave a Reply

